The Gilchrist-Fisher Award 2018: Finalists' Exhibition

15 - 26 March 2018 London

The Gilchrist-Fisher Award is a biennial art prize established in 1987 in memory of art-lover Alasdair Gilchrist-Fischer, who lost his battle to cancer at the age of twenty-four.


The prestigious award, supported by Johnnie Boden and the Rebecca Hossack Art Gallery, is open to all artists of any nationality under the age of thirty, whose work deals with the broad theme of landscape.


Although originally instituted as a painting prize, work is now accepted in all media, except video and installation. Previous winners of what the Financial Times has called 'this remarkable and admirable prize' include Peter Doig, Alasdair Wallace and Angela Hughes.


This year’s judging panel of experts includes Laura Ford, photographer Harry Cory Wright and painter Elizabeth Magill. For 2016, the Trustees have decided to increase the winner's prize to £6000.


The six short-listed finalists are Sam Carvosso, Kim Harvey, Tom Hatton, Eunhong Kang, Minyoung Choi and Eugenia Popesco. Their work will be exhibited at Rebecca Hossack Art Gallery throughout March.