Gilchrist Fischer Award: Finalists Exhibition

6 - 29 March 2014
Conway Street, London


Andrew Shannon, Parasite, 2013, sculpture

The Gilchrist-Fisher Award is a biennial prize established in 1987 and open to all artists under the age of thirty whose work deals with the broad theme of Landscape.

Although originally instituted as a painting prize, work is now accepted in all media except video and installation.

There is a First Prize of £3000 and a Second Prize of £1000. In addition the work of the six short-listed finalists is exhibited at the Rebecca Hossack Gallery, Conway Street.

Previous winners of what the Financial Times has called 'this remarkable and admirable' prize include Peter Doig, Alasdair Wallace and Angela Hughes.


This year the judging panel were Stephen Chambers RA, critic and broadcaster Matthew Collings, landscape photographer Harry Cory-Wright, and painter Elizabeth Magill. First prize was unanimously awarded to Andrew Shannon for his piece Parasite.


"Andrew Shannon's was the work with the big idea. There was an urgency about it - a sense that nature is not entirely benign. It seems to reflect some of our anxieties about the world in an exciting way."


- Matthew Collings