The Gilchrist-Fisher Award 2016: Finalists' Exhibition

3 - 23 March 2016 London

The Gilchrist-Fisher Award is a biennial art prize established in 1987 in memory of art-lover Alasdair Gilchrist-Fischer, who lost his battle to cancer at the age of twenty-four.


The prestigious award, supported by Johnnie Boden and the Rebecca Hossack Art Gallery, is open to all artists of any nationality under the age of thirty, whose work deals with the broad theme of landscape.


Although originally instituted as a painting prize, work is now accepted in all media, except video and installation. Previous winners of what the Financial Times has called 'this remarkable and admirable prize' include Peter Doig, Alasdair Wallace and Angela Hughes.


This year’s judging panel of experts includes Stephen Chambers RA, critic Matthew Collings, photographer Harry Cory Wright and painter Elizabeth Magill. For 2016, the Trustees have decided to increase the winner's prize to £6000.


The six short-listed finalists are Caroline Abbotts, Jennifer Rafferty, Joshua Tabti, Katalin Vasali, Katja Larsson and Sim Chan. Their work will be exhibited at Rebecca Hossack Art Gallery throughout March.


The winner of the Gilchrist-Fisher Award 2016 was announced on 3 March as Katalin Vasali. This is the first time a Photographer has been awarded the prize. Issues discussed by the judges were whether the entries kept to the brief of landscape and how they developed it.